Sign up for e-News Donate
Mississippi Valley Archaeology Center

Elizabeth Peters

The Painted Queen by Elizabeth Peters, Joan Hess

September 1, 2017

HarperCollins Publishers: New York 2017 (HC) In 2013 mystery novel readers and Egyptologists around the globe mourned the passing of Barbara Mertz, who under the pen name of Elizabeth Peters, wrote some of the most cherished stories of the late…

A River in the Sky by Elizabeth Peters

September 1, 2010

HarperCollins Publishers: New York City 2010 (HC) It is August, 1910, and Elizabeth Peters’ most cherished creations, Radcliffe Emerson and Amelia Peabody are bored silly with their patrician existence in the family manor in Kent, England.  Ramses is in Palestine,…

The Jackal’s Head by Elizabeth Peters

October 1, 2007

Avon Books: New York 2002 (PB); Original publication, 1968 Before there was Amelia Peabody, there was Althea Tomlinson; before there was Radcliffe Emerson, there was John McIntyre.  And before there was Crocodile on the Sandbank, published in 1975, there was The…

The Serpent on the Crown by Elizabeth Peters

October 1, 2005

HarperCollins, New York 2005 (hc) For those who relish their archaeological mysteries-or any kind of mystery, for that matter-there are few reading delights that can surpass the publication of a new Amelia Peabody novel. Elizabeth Peters can be depended upon…

Guardian of the Horizon by Elizabeth Peters

May 1, 2004

HarperCollins Publishers, New York 2004 (hc) Who among us hasn’t wished we could turn the clock back to relive a particularly wonderful or exciting or magical time in our lives? Until H.G. Wells’ time machine becomes a reality, the only…

Crocodile on the Sandbank by Elizabeth Peters

January 1, 2004

Barnes & Noble Books, New York 1993 (hc) Crocodile on the Sandbank, first published in 1975, was the first of what was to be Elizabeth Peters’ highly popular Amelia Peabody series. This series, which now includes fifteen novels, with a…